All Your Dreams Are Meaningless

Digital album / IMNT 0310

Includes download in MP3 / OGG / FLAC format.

Album on compact disc / IMNT 0310

Includes download in MP3 / OGG / FLAC format.
  • 1. Lift With the Knees
  • 2. Lullaby
  • 3. Terminal
  • 4. No5
  • 5. Solitaire
  • 6. Timewise
  • 7. tlia3ml
  • 8. Scission
  • 9. Southern Yukon / Northern BC (perhaps parts of Alaska)

A new strain of musique concrète is currently taking off in Western Canada and the Prairies. Much like their fellow landscape painters from the last century, these composers, improcomposers, recomposers answer reverently to the call of rock and soil. This respect of elements echoes that of Vancouver-based composer Kevin M Krebs (833-45), and the sound ecologists before him. But this West-Canadian “new wave” (or “new land” as we may more appropriately term it) is fertile of a veritable collective conscience, which deploys itself, respective to each artist, in the form of varied themes and concepts.

We know Coin Gutter thanks to their self-produced CD-R, Truth Lifting Up Its Head Above Scandals. The 36 eventful minutes of this disc’s only track, Lift With Your Knees, open up their first CD, All Your Dreams Are Meaningless, released on Montréal-based label No Type. You are moreover set to discover 8 new pieces from the duo, which form the second half of this disc. Bear witness to a powerful, poignant music, which slowly articulates around drones, voices and concrete noises which act as threads and punctuation. Something very much for today…

  • Date available: 2003-03-31

Coin Gutter

No Type