Demolition Blues

Digital album / NT 104

Includes download in MP3 / OGG / FLAC format.
  • 1. Coda
  • 2. Crashing Overpass
  • 3. Experimental Film
  • 4. Bloody Murder (Embryo Song)
  • 5. Jennicam
  • 6. Nunavut or Bust
  • 7. Lampes

Seven years ago, Asyncdrone (David Turgeon et Kaia Wong, to whom was added Napalm Jazz saxophonist Philémon) went in studio to record the follow-up to insurpassable lo-fi slop fest We Who Are Distant. But the contrast couldn’t be bigger: a clean cut production, solid improv, and very different themes from the Asyncdrone we knew. This uncanny result had the effect of them not publishing the recording immediately. Each member went on their own way and, meanwhile, the well-named Demolition Blues aged, and aged very well, too (a common thread among No Type releases, we find). So much so that you could even say the whole thing was in fact recorded seven years too early. Or eight even, because two of these tracks are actually 1999 reconstructions by David Turgeon of various solo recordings. So it is with great joy that we present this very last album from Asyncdrone, while we’re waiting for the first release from Siblings, David and Kaia’s new project.

  • Kaia Wong: electric and acoustic violin, Hammond B3, voice, flute, percussions
  • David Turgeon: Audiomulch, electric guitar, glockenspiel, percussions
  • Philémon: alto saxophone, drums
  • A_dontigny: turntable (3, 5, 6)

1 + 2 + 4 + 5 + 7: Recording and production: Bernard Ouellette, Studio Amadeus, Saint-Antoine (Québec), 2000

3 + 5: Manipulation and bricolage: David Turgeon, Montréal, 1999.

Photos: David Turgeon and Philémon

  • Date available: 2007-07-22



No Type