Sings the Blues

Digital album / IMNT 088

Includes download in MP3 / OGG / FLAC format.

Album on compact disc / IMNT 088

Includes download in MP3 / OGG / FLAC format.
  • 1. Laptop Blues
  • 2. Republic Of
  • 3. See You in Tokyo
  • 4. She’s Dead to Me
  • 5. Pointe du pied
  • 6. Girls Up Front
  • 7. Death in the Sex Shop
  • 8. Siberian Soundsystem
  • 9. Circus Animal Battle Rap (instrumental)
  • 10. Frisson
  • 11. Bicycle Beat
  • 12. Shake That
  • 13. The Crucial
  • 14. Unlucky Bounce
  • 15. Sidekick
  • 16. Church Bus

Abusive fastball rhythms. Gratuitous electroid synth lines. Z-movie backdrops. Tape hiss. Chopped vocal samples. Soundtracks to the high-scores table. One-finger sampler tapping. Lush downtempo breaks. Power pop plunges. You name it, Sings the blues has it. Except there’s not really any blues.

This is Books on Tape’s sophomore CD, & what a treat it is! First, this is 100% Todd Drootin: no collaborators were harmed during the making of this CD. And secondly & most importantly, this CD is the first to effectively capture the feeling & essence of Books on Tape’s notorious live shows.

Whether or not you’ve had the chance to witness the boy wonder of the sampler in your hometown yet, open your ears & there is little doubt that you will enjoy this new CD. It’s new, it’s exciting, it’s intense, & it’s got flair & it’s got bite. In short, this is Books on Tape at its absolute finest. Todd Drootin is in the house, & he’s not about to leave!

Mastered by Louis Dufort. Licensed to Greyday [GDP 009] for the USA.

  • Date available: 2003-09-01


Books on Tape

No Type